Home > Confusion, media > Everybody’s on the net…why we blog

Everybody’s on the net…why we blog

As I was listening to CBC Radio 2 Drive and rushing to clean my apt before having some friends over, I heard the lovely Rich Terfry chatting about his discussion with Sarah Slean about the meaning of her song “Everybody’s on TV”. Specifically a line in it that goes “cause a life unexamined, well it’s certainly not worth living“.

The gist of what I caught is how it’s a twist on the Socrate’s quote “the unexamined life is not worth living” (scroll down, it’s there). Although I’m always intrigued by how humans suppose we know exactly what our ancestors were meaning, the point is that we should examine our lives and question things. Slean (and I love the literary wit here) was maybe, according to Mr. Terfry, pointing out how in the modern day we all want to be on TV or in the lime light.

This got me thinking about why I started this blog. To be out there, or in here, where my thoughts are. Logically it must be some form of out there, because why else would I post my thoughts on a ridiculously public and uncontrollable medium. Or maybe it’s more to converse on virtue of things, with myself through the ability to re-read and re-ponder.

I’m hoping it becomes a more-than-me conversing. And starting to wonder if blogging is a modern contribution to examining our individual and collective lives.

Categories: Confusion, media
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

